HTML wind sprints …

May 24, 2007 at 8:38 pm Leave a comment

HeadFirstHTMLBookCoverIn my last post I admitted that I suck at web stuff. Wow … that little revelation really got me thinking. Once upon a time I was OK at web stuff. In the dark days before .net I was able to cobble together a basic web page, even a little classic asp. But now I’d be lost even trying to do that stuff. So yesterday I set out for nerdbooks and picked up a copy of “Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML“. It’s my third head first book. I’m also reading Head first Java and Head First Object Oriented Analysis and Design. Anyway … it’s one hell of a book. I’m tearing through it at a startling rate and feel like I’m developing a stronger grasp of HTML than ever before. Not only that, but I’m finally starting to grok CSS. Wow. At the risk of seaming like a total noobie, it’s about the coolest stuff ever.

As I was sort of stalling in my study of .net I thought it might be good for me to change gears a little bit. I hope switching to HTML for a while will sort of prime the pump and put me back on track with my pursuit of c#. At any rate … it can’t hurt. I’ve been planning on putting a Fort Worth web dev and design user group on my calendar, maybe I should make room for the Dallas ASP.net group as well.

p.s. I’m still working through the Boag podcasts. I’ve listened to all of the archives at .Net Magazine , now I’m working through the ones at Boagworld.com. Really great stuff.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Branching Out. Lucky day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


