match.com open house.

June 19, 2008 at 2:20 pm Leave a comment

match.com logo

Last night match.com hosted an open house for the local developer community. Office tours, a short presentation, free food, free BEER! Of course I was there!

Wow! I can’t believe how cool that office space is. I’m trying to ration myself on exclamation points in this post … but after last night, it aint easy. I have never seen anything like it. It’s clear they’ve put a LOT of time, money and thought into creating an appealing environment. I’ve never been to Google’s offices, but we’ve all heard the stories. Trust me; they’ve got nothing on match.com. This place was amazing.

The work spaces were a tad on the smallish size, but they all had large LCD monitors, nice keyboards, nice chairs, good lighting. Rather than the standard carpet and plywood cube walls they had some sort of light fabric dividers to separate the spaces and give people a little privacy. There was a (fun – funky – cool – fresh) sort of vibe everywhere. I could definitely see myself working there.

All the match.com people I talked with were passionate about what they do, and I can’t blame them. It’s a freakin cool job! I get excited just thinking of all the interesting patterns and trends that are just waiting in the mountains of data they collect. hmmm… I’m starting to think maybe I spend too much time in SQL.

If you’re in the market for a new job and you live or can drive to the SMU area in Dallas I highly recommend you give them a look. For me, I’m putting them at the top of my list for the next go around. For the moment I’m happy where I am, but like they would say on match.com … it doesn’t hurt to look!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

my love hate relationship with SSIS … part 17: curly braces!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


